Skip to main content

Outdoor School Providers and Sites

Throughout Oregon, numerous organizations provide outdoor school for students. Some are school districts or ESDs, others are non-profit organizations or private companies contracted by schools. These outdoor school providers operate their programs at numerous physical sites throughout the state. Sites are often located at residential camps, though they may also include State Parks, or other outdoor public spaces. These lists are neither inclusive of all outdoor school providers or sites available, nor do they signify Oregon State University’s endorsement. We encourage those who use these lists to perform their own research regarding other available resources and/or to validate the appropriateness of these providers and sites to your organization’s needs.

If your organization, or site, is not represented, and would like to be added, please contact us to learn more about the criteria for being listed.

Outdoor School Providers and Sites

Throughout Oregon, numerous organizations provide outdoor school for students. Some are school districts or ESDs, others are non-profit organizations or private companies contracted by schools. These outdoor school providers operate their programs at numerous physical sites throughout the state. Sites are often located at residential camps, though they may also include State Parks, or other outdoor public spaces. These lists are neither inclusive of all outdoor school providers or sites available, nor do they signify Oregon State University’s endorsement. We encourage those who use these lists to perform their own research regarding other available resources and/or to validate the appropriateness of these providers and sites to your organization’s needs.

If your organization, or site, is not represented, and would like to be added, please contact us to learn more about the criteria for being listed.

Statewide Provider List

Outdoor School Providers County of headquarters County of site/operation Region Website/Contact
Audubon Society of Portland Multnomah Clackamas Northern https://audubonportland.org/our-work/learn/youth-programs/
Biodiversity Arts Outdoor School Jackson Jackson, Josephine, Klamath Southern https://www.biodiversityarts.com/
Calapooia Watershed Council Linn Linn Central https://www.calapooia.org/education/outdoor-school/
Camp DeBoer - Ashland Family YMCA Jackson Jackson Southern https://ashlandymca.org/
Camp Elkanah Union Union Eastern https://campelkanah.com/outdoorschool
Camp Fire Wilani Lane Lane Central https://wilanicouncil.org/outdoor-school/
Camp Tamarack Deschutes Deschutes Central https://www.camptamarack.com/ods-information
Canyonview Camp Marion Marion Central https://www.canyonviewministries.org/outdoor-school
Cove Ascension School Union Union Eastern http://www.coveascensionschool.com/outdoor-school/
Coyle Outside LLC Linn Mobile Central https://www.coyleoutside.com/school-programs
Coyote Outdoor School Lane Lane Central https://www.wholeearth.org/COS/
Curry Watersheds Partnership Curry Curry Southern https://www.currywatersheds.org/programs/youth-education/outdoor-school/
Forest Today and Forever Lane Lane Central https://foreststodayandforever.org/outdoor-school/
Friends of the Owyhee Malheur Malheur Eastern https://www.friendsoftheowyhee.org/outdoor-youth-events
Gorge Ecology Out Door Education (GEODE) Hood River Hood River Northern http://www.gorgeecology.org/index.php/programs/
Grove Camp Outdoor School Lane Lane Central https://www.grovechristiancamp.org/outdoor-school
Hatfield Marine Science Center Lincoln Lincoln Central https://hmsc.oregonstate.edu/
Klamath Outdoor Science School (KOSS) Klamath Klamath Southern https://www.klamathoutdoorschool.org/
Multnomah Education Service District (MESD) Multnomah Multnomah, Clackamas Northern https://www.mesdoutdoorschool.org/
Northwest Outdoor Science School (NWRESD) Washington Columbia, Tillamook, Lane, Marion, Lincoln Northern, Central https://www.nwoutdoorschool.org/
Opal Creek Ancient Forest Center Multnomah Mobile Northern, Central https://www.opalcreek.org/
Oregon Museum of Science and Industry (OMSI) Multnomah Lincoln, Grant Northern, Central, Eastern https://omsi.edu/school-and-group-catalog?field_erg_program_type_tid%5B%5D=526
Pacifica: A Garden in the Siskiyous Josephine Josephine Southern https://pacificagarden.org/outdoor-school
Rogue Environmental Education and Outdoor School Jackson Jackson Southern https://www.rogue-ee.com/outdoor-school.html
Salem Environmental Education Marion Marion Central https://salemee.org/outdoor-school/
Siskiyou Field Institute Josephine Josephine Southern https://siskiyoufieldinstitute.org/for-schools/
South Santiam Watershed Council Linn Linn Central https://sswc.org/community-education-projects/outdoor-school/
Southern Oregon University (Fall in the Field) Jackson Jackson Southern https://fallinthefield.sou.edu/
Straub Outdoors Marion Mobile Central https://strauboutdoors.org/outdoor-school
The Crest at Willow-Witt Jackson Jackson Southern https://thecrestatwillowwitt.org/programs/school-year/outdoor-school/
Twin Rocks Friends Camp Tillamook Tillamook Northern http://www.outdoorschool.twinrocks.org/
Wallowa Resources Wallowa Wallowa Eastern https://www.wallowaresources.org/school-programs
Western Oregon Outdoor School (WOODS) Linn Co Mobile Central https://www.westernoregonods.com/welcome-to-ods

School District Provider List

School/District Outdoor School Providers County of headquarters Site of operation Region Website/Contact
Arlington School District Gilliam Tupper Guard Station Northern https://www.honkernet.net/
Arock SD Malheur Coast trip/Tamarack Eastern https://www.malesd.org/about-us/schools-we-serve/arock
Athena Weston SD/Weston Middle School Umatilla Buck Creek Eastern https://www.athwest.k12.or.us/
Baker Web Academy Baker Suttle Lake Eastern https://bakercharters.org/
Cascade School District Marion Camp Tadmor Central https://www.cascade.k12.or.us/
Condon School District Gilliam Tupper Guard Station Northern https://www.condon.k12.or.us/
Crook County School District Crook Suttle Lake Eastern https://www.crookcountyschools.org/
Echo School District Umatilla Tupper Guard Station Eastern https://www.echo.k12.or.us/
Harney ESD Harney Various locations/The Springs Eastern http://www.harneyesd.k12.or.us/
Harper SD/Harper Charter School Malheur Tumalo State Park Eastern https://www.harpersd.org/
Helix SD/Helix School Umatilla Meadowood Eastern https://www.helix.k12.or.us/
Heppner Elementary School Morrow Tupper Guard Station Eastern https://hes.morrow.k12.or.us/
Ione Community Charter School Morrow Tupper Guard Station Eastern https://www.ione.k12.or.us/
Jewett Elementary School Jackson Southern Oregon Land Conservancy Southern https://jes.district6.org/
John Day/Grant SD 3 Grant Lake Creek Eastern https://www.grantesd.k12.or.us/district-3/staff.htm
Jordan Valley SD/Rockville Malheur Coast trip/Tamarack Eastern https://www.jordanvalley.k12.or.us/
Mae Richardson School Jackson Wildlife Images Rehabilitation and Education Center Southern https://mre.district6.org/
Milton Freewater SD/Ferndale Elementary Umatilla Buck Creek Eastern https://www.miltfree.k12.or.us/en-US
Nyssa Malheur Narious locations/Friends of the Owhyee Eastern https://www.nyssa.k12.or.us/
Perrydale School District Yamhill Camp Tapawingo Northern https://www.perrydaleschool.com/
Pilot Rock SD/Pilot Rock Elementary Umatilla Meadowood Eastern https://www.pilotrock.k12.or.us/
Pine Eagle SD/Pine Eagle Charter Baker Coast trip Eastern https://www.pineeaglesd.org/
Praire City SD/Prairie City School Grant Coast trip Eastern https://www.pcsd4.com/
Rainier School District Columbia Camp Collins Northern https://www.rainier.k12.or.us/
Stanfield School District Umatilla Tupper Guard Station Eastern https://www.stanfield.k12.or.us/
Sunny Wolf Charter School Josephine Various locations Southern https://sunnywolfcharterschool.com/
Tillamook School District Tillamook Camp Meriwether Northern http://www.tillamook.k12.or.us/
Ukiah SD/Ukiah School Umatilla Various locations/The Springs Eastern https://www.uusd.net/
Umatilla SD/Clara Brown MS Umatilla Emigrant Springs State Park/Camp Elkanah Eastern https://www.umatilla.k12.or.us/o/cbms/
Unions SD/Union Elementary Union Buck Creek/Elkanah Eastern https://www.union.k12.or.us/
Vernonia School District Columbia Cedar Ridge Northern https://www.vernonia.k12.or.us/

Statewide Site List

Outdoor School Site Location (nearest town) County Region Website
Aldersgate Camps and Retreats Turner Marion Central https://aldersgateretreat.com/
Anthony Lakes Mountain Resort North Powder Union Eastern https://anthonylakes.com/
Ascension School Camp and Retreat Center Cove Union Eastern http://www.coveascensionschool.com/
B'nai B'rith Camp Lincolln City Lincoln Central https://bbcamp.org/
Bauman Tree Farm Gervais Marion Central https://baumanfarms.com/
Blue Mountain 4-H Center La Grande Union Eastern No website available
Buck Creek Cabin La Grande Union Eastern No website available
Bull Prairie Lake Campground Heppner Morrow Eastern https://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/umatilla/recarea/?recid=56411
Camp Angelos Corbett Multnomah Northern http://www.campangelos.org/
Camp Arrah Wanna, Inc. Welches Clackamas Northern https://www.camparrahwanna.org/
Camp Attitude Foster Linn Central https://campattitude.org/
Camp Baker - Oregon Trail Council BSA Florence Lane Central https://www.otcbsa.org/baker
Camp Baldwin - BSA Dufur Wasco Northern https://cpcbsa.org/project/camp-baldwin/
Camp Cascade Lyons Linn Central http://www.campcascade.net/outdoor-school
Camp Cleawox- Girl Scouts Florence Lane Central https://www.campamerica.co.uk/camps/camp-cleawox
Camp Collins - YMCA Gresham Multnomah Northern https://www.ymcacw.org/camps/ymca-camp-collins
Camp Cooper - BSA Willamina Polk Central https://archive.cpcbsa.org/cooper
Camp DeBoer- Ashland Family YMCA Ashland Jackson Southern https://ashlandymca.org/ymca-camp-deboer/
Camp Elkanah La Grande Union Eastern https://campelkanah.com/
Camp Fire Wilani Springfield Land Central https://wilanicouncil.org/
Camp Gray Coastal Discovery Center Newport Lincoln Central https://omsi.edu/camp-gray
Camp Hancock (Hancock Field Station) Fossil Wheeler Eastern https://omsi.edu/camp-hancock
Camp Harlow Eugene Lane Central https://campharlow.com/
Camp Howard - CYO Corbett Multnomah Northern https://www.cyocamphoward.org/home
Camp Kellogg Springs Oakland Douglas Southern http://www.kelloggsprings.com/
Camp Kiwanilong Warrenton Clatsop Northern https://www.campkiwanilong.org/
Camp Koinonia Sweet Home Linn Central https://www.campkoinonia.net/
Camp Kuratli at Trestle Glen Boring Clackamas Northern https://campkuratli.salvationarmy.org/camp_kuratli/
Camp Lane - Lane County Parks Walton Lane Central https://lanecounty.org/government/county_departments/public_works/parks/our_parks
Camp Latgawa Eagle Point Jackson Southern https://latgawa.gocamping.org/
Camp Lutherwood Cheshire Lane Central https://www.lutherwoodoregon.org/
Camp Magruder - United Methodist Rockaway Tillamook Northern http://www.campmagruder.org/
Camp Meadowood Springs Weston Umatilla Eastern https://www.meadowoodsprings.org/
Camp Meriwether - BSA Cloverdale Tillamook Northern https://cpcbsa.org/project/camp-meriwether/
Camp Morrow Wamic Wasco Northern https://www.campmorrow.org/
Camp Myrtlewood Myrtle Point Coos Southern https://www.campmyrtlewood.org/
Camp Namanu - Campfire Sandy Clackamas Northern https://campnamanu.org/
Camp Tadmor Lebanon Linn Central https://tadmor.org/en/
Camp Taloali Stayton Marion Central https://www.taloali.org/
Camp Tapawingo Falls City Polk Central https://camp-tapawingo.com/
Camp Westwind Otis Lincoln Central https://westwind.org/
Camp Whispering Winds - Girl Scouts Philomouth Linn Central https://www.girlscoutsosw.org/camp
Camp White Branch McKenzie Bridge Lane Central https://campwhitebranch.org/
Canby Grove Christian Center Canby Clackamas Northern https://www.canbygrove.com/
Canyonview Camp Silverton Marion Central https://www.canyonviewministries.org/
Cascade-Siskiyou National Monument Ashland Jackson Southern https://www.blm.gov/programs/national-conservation-lands/national-monuments/oregon-washington/cascade-siskiyou
Cedar Ridge Retreat & Conference Center Vernonia Columbia Northern http://www.visitcedarridge.com/home.php
Champoeg State Park/State Heritage Area St.Paul Marion Central https://stateparks.oregon.gov/index.cfm?do=park.profile&parkId=79
Crater Lake National Park Prospect Klamath Southern https://www.nps.gov/crla/index.htm
Deer Creek Park McMinville Yamhill Northern https://www.co.yamhill.or.us/content/deer-creek
Drift Creek Camp Lincoln City Lincoln Central https://driftcreek.org/
Elijah Bristow State Park Dexter Lane Central https://stateparks.oregon.gov/index.cfm?do=park.profile&parkId=60
George Fox University Newberg Yamhill Northern https://www.georgefox.edu/
Grove Camp Outdoor School Dorena Lane Central https://www.grovechristiancamp.org/
Hatfield Marine Science Center Newport Lincoln Central https://hmsc.oregonstate.edu/
Jackson County Parks Ashland Jackson Southern https://jacksoncountyor.org/parks/Camping/Howard-Prairie-Resort
Jacksonville Cemetery and Britt Trails Jacksonville Jackson Southern https://www.hikingproject.com/trail/7001549/britt-woods-loop
Lake Creek Youth Recreational Camp Inc. John Day Grant Eastern https://www.lakecreekcamp.org/
Little River Christian Camp Glide Douglas Southern https://www.littleriverchristiancamp.com/
Lost Valley Education and Event Center Dexter Lane Central https://lostvalley.org/
Mazamas Mountain Lodge Government Camp Clackamas Northern https://mazamas.org/mazamalodge/
McDaniel Stream Restoration Site Enterprise Wallowa Eastern https://digital.osl.state.or.us/islandora/object/osl:16430
Minto Brown Park Salem Marion Central https://www.cityofsalem.net/minto-brown-island-park
Mountain Lakes Bible Camp Klamath Falls Klamath Southern https://www.bbckfalls.org/mlbc
Opal Creek Ancient Forest Center Portland Multnomah Northern https://www.opalcreek.org/
Oregon 4-H Center Salem Marion Central http://oregon4hcenter.org/
Oregon Garden Silverton Marion Central https://www.oregongarden.org/
Oregon State Parks Various All All https://stateparks.oregon.gov/
Pacifica: A Garden in the Siskiyous Williams Josephine Southern https://pacificagarden.org/
Siskiyou Field Institute Selma Josephine Southern https://siskiyoufieldinstitute.org/
Sky Camp at Fall Creek Fall Creek Lane Central https://skycamporegon.weebly.com/
South Beach State Park Newport Lincoln Central https://stateparks.oregon.gov/index.cfm?do=park.profile&parkId=149
Southern Oregon Land Conservancy Ashland Jackson Southern https://www.landconserve.org/
Sunset Bay State Park Coos Bay Coos Southern https://stateparks.oregon.gov/index.cfm?do=park.profile&parkId=70
Suttle Lake United Methodist Camp Sisters Deschutes Central https://suttlelake.gocamping.org/
The Crest at Willow-Witt Ashland Jackson Southern https://thecrestatwillowwitt.org/
Tillamook Forest Center Tillamook Tillamook Northern http://tillamookforestcenter.org/
Twin Rocks Friends Camp Rockaway Beach Tillamook Northern https://www.twinrocks.org/
Union Rogue Baptist Camp Prospect Jackson Southern http://www.unionroguerivercamp.com/
US Forest Service Tupper Guard Camp Heppner Morrow Eastern No website available
Wallowa Lake State Park Joseph Wallowa Eastern https://stateparks.oregon.gov/index.cfm?do=park.profile&parkId=20
Wi-Ne-Ma Christian Camp Cloverdale Tillamook Northern https://www.winema.org/
Willamette Mission State Park Gervais Marion Central https://stateparks.oregon.gov/index.cfm?do=park.profile&parkId=99
Back to top